Kid Cudi shoots for the moon

placeholder image

    Kid Cudi, the loner stoner Martian duder from Cleveland, has built himself quite a bit of hype over the last year or so. You can primarily attribute this to his mixtape A Kid Named Cudi, which is a work full of hyped-out rap swagger about women, wacky tobaccy, and wildin’ out that somehow also manages to incorporate the idea of being an outsider, issues of self-esteem, relationships and the rest of the world, and coming to terms with trying to rule it all. Needless to say, it’s pretty compelling stuff.

    The real test, however, will come on September 15th when Cudi releases his debut album Man on the Moon: The End of Day. Acting as talent and executive producer, Cudi brought together an all-star crew of fellow producers and guest appearances, including MGMT, Chip Tha Ripper, Common, Kanye West, and Ratatat. The result is an LP consisting of 15 tracks broken up into five acts.

    Intrigued? That’s just the beginning. Already Cudi is hard at work on a followup entitled Man on the Moon: The Ghost in the Machine. In all, there’ll be three Man on the Moon efforts before Cudi does what all rappers do — starts to pretend he is Brett Favre. In an interview with Honey magazine, he explained:


    “Once the story is told I’m done, man, unless something else happens to me. Once I’m done with the third album, I‘m just going to do collabs.”

    Let’s hope that something is an end to his fledgling acting career. Cudi’s latest single “Make Her Say” is out now with the third single “Pursuit of Happiness”, featuring MGMT and Ratatat, out shortly. Man on the Moon: The End of Day is out September 15th on GOOD Music.

    Man on the Moon: The End of Day Tracklist:
    Act 1: The End Of The Day
    01 In My Dreams (Cudder Anthem)
    02. Soundtrack 2 My Life
    03. Simple As…


    Act 2: Rise Of The Night Terrors
    04. Mr. Solo Dolo (Nightmare)
    05. Heart Of A Lion (Kid Cudi Theme Music)
    06. My World (feat. Billy Cravens)

    Act 3: Taking A Trip
    07. Day N Nite (Nightmare)
    08. Sky Might Fall
    09. Enter Galactic (Love Connection Part 1)

    Act 4: Stuck
    10. Alive (Nightmare) (feat. Ratatat)
    11. Cudi Zone
    12. Make Her Say Ft. Kanye West & Common
    13. Pursuit Of Happiness (Nightmare) (feat. MGMT & Ratatat)


    Act 5: A New Beginning
    14. Hyyerrr (feat. Chip Tha Ripper)
    15. Up, Up & Away (The Wake & Bake Song)