Check Out: Michael Jackson – “This Is It”

placeholder image

    As the marketing-palooza that is the forthcoming Michael Jackson film (and accompany soundtrack) known as This Is It begins to kick into high gear, we’re finally beginning to reap the benefits of previews… and leaks.

    Today, on this 11th of October in the year 2009, the never before heard title track for the forthcoming film/soundtrack has officially been unveiled. The track, which is reportedly one of over 100 unreleased songs that will surely be released in the months and years ahead, is a rather emotional and beautiful ballad, reminiscent of Jackson’s latter work. And yes, those are Jackson’s brothers, aka the Jackson 5, providing the accompanying background harmonies.

    “This Is It” will be included in the forthcoming soundtrack of the same title, which, as previously reported, is set for release on October 27th. Included in the two-disc set will be both masters of Jackson’s previous hits as well as three demos — “She’s Out Of My Life”, “Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’”, and “Beat It” — and the spoken-word piece “Planet Earth”. Find the complete tracklist below.


    This is It, the film, hits theatres on October 28th.

    This Is It (Disc One) Tracklist:
    01. Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’
    02. Jam
    03. They Don’t Care About Us
    04. Human Nature
    05. Smooth Criminal
    06. The Way You Make Me Feel
    07. Shake Your Body (Down To The Ground)
    08. I Just Can’t Stop Loving Yo
    09. Thriller
    10. Beat It
    11. Black Or White
    12. Earth Song
    13. Billie Jean
    14. Man In The Mirror
    15. This Is It
    16. This Is It (Orchestra Version)

    Disc Two:
    01. She’s Out Of My Life (Demo)
    02. Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’ (Demo)
    03. Beat It (Demo)
    04. Planet Earth (Poem)