My Morning Jacket, Conor Oberst team up for John Prine tribute


    Given that 2010 looks to be the year of the tribute album (e.g., Bowie & Silverstein) it seems only appropriate that one of America’s most acclaimed singer/songwriters will be getting his own this summer. On June 22nd, Oh Boy Records will pay homage to John Prine with the release of Broken Hearts And Dirty Windows: Songs Of John Prine. The 12-track features cover versions of Prine’s song by a slew of musical heavweights, including My Morning Jacket, Conor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band, Drive-By Truckers, Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, Josh Ritter, The Avett Brothers, Deer Tick, Lambchop, and Justin Townes Earle.

    Check out the complete tracklist below. NPR previewed Vernon’s contribution, a cover of “Bruised Orange (Chain Of Sorrow)”, during its recent Spring Music Preview.

    Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs Of John Prine Tracklist:
    01. Justin Vernon of Bon Iver – Bruised Orange (Chain Of Sorrow)
    02. Conor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band – Wedding Day In Funeralville
    03. My Morning Jacket – All The Best
    04. Josh Ritter – Mexican Home
    05. Lambchop – Six O’Clock News
    06. Justin Townes Earle – Far From Me
    07. The Avett Brothers – Spanish Pipedream
    08. Old Crow Medicine Show – Angel From Montgomery
    09. Sara Watkins – The Late John Garfield Blues
    10. Drive-By Truckers – Daddy’s Little Pumpkin
    11. Deer Tick featuring Liz Isenberg – Unwed Fathers
    12. Those Darlins – Let’s Talk Dirty In Hawaiian


Personalized Stories

Around The Web