Peter Hook unveils Freebass debut


    Busy bee Peter Hook surprised fans over the weekend when he unveiled the debut album for his bassladen supergroup, Freebass. By supergroup, we don’t mean that liberally. This sucker contains The Smiths’ Andy Rourke and The Stone Roses’ Gary “Mani” Mounfield. Haven vocalist Gary Briggs and Monaco drummer Paul Kehoe complete the group, as well. So, yeah, get excited.

    Titled It’s A Beautiful Life, the 10-track record comes after five years in the making. The band released a statement, which explains the delay, citing: “Initially it was rumoured the collective would have played together before now but there was the small matter of getting FAC 251 off the ground first, although the idea behind the band came about a few years ago with the recording of a theme for Channel 4 Radio programme, The Tube in 2006.” Interesting. Unfortunately no guest vocals came on-board, the likes of Billy Corgan and Liam Gallagher were thrown around, but I think it’s safe to say that they were probably busy.

    Future fans can pick up the album digitally via Hacienda Records, Hook’s new label that recalls the crazy days of Tony Wilson and the original Hacienda club. And while no physical release has been set, it should only be a matter of time. Vinyl please?


    If you’re overseas though, do try and catch a show — especially the boys’ Manchester gig at Hook’s new venue, FAC251 The Factory. That’s sure to be a sight. Just don’t expect any Joy Division or New Order covers.

    It’s a Beautiful Life tracklist
    01. Not Too Late
    02. The Only Ones Alone
    03. Lady Violence
    04. World Won’t Wait
    05. Kill Switch pt. 141
    06. Stalingrad
    07. Secrets and Lies
    08. She Said
    09. The God Machine
    10. Plan B

    Freebass 2010 Tour Dates:
    05/31 – York, UK @ The Duchess
    06/01 -  London, UK @ The 100 Club,
    06/02 – Manchester, UK @ FAC251 The Factory
    06/06 – Middlesbrough, UK @ Middlesbrough Music Live Festival