Alan Wilder handpicks hits for Recoil set


    Since Depeche Mode’s formation in 1980, lead singer Dave Gahan provided baritone vocals and guitarist Martin Gore composed the vast majority of the group’s lyrics. But the true “musician” of the group (after Vince Clarke left to form Yazoo in ’81) was undeniably keyboardist/drummer Alan Wilder.

    As Wilder helped Depeche Mode reach world-wide fame as the musical architect on Black Celebration, Music For the Masses, Violator, and Songs of Faith and Devotion, he developed Recoil as an outlet for his experimental, less pop-oriented compositions. He would go on to release five albums using the Recoil moniker, dedicating himself to the project full-time after his 1995 departure from Depeche Mode.

    Wilder has now hand-selected his favorite Recoil tracks for release on June 8th, as Recoil Selected. According to Wilder: “The collection is made up of my personal favourites, remastered and edited together into what I consider a cohesive and total listening experience.” A complete track listing after the jump.


    In support of the album, Recoil will perform three US shows during mid-may. A Strange Hour with Alan Wilder & Paul Kendall will be the first attempt at performing the Recoil material live, and promises live-collaborations with special guests. Tickets to the New York show are available here.

    Recoil Selected Tracklist:
    01. Strange Hours
    02. Faith Healer
    03. Jezebel
    04. Allelujah
    05. Want
    06. Red River Cargo
    07. Supreme
    08. Prey
    09. Drifting
    10. Luscious Apparatus
    11. The Killing Ground (excerpt)
    12. Shunt
    13. Edge To Life
    14. Last Breath

    01. Supreme – True Romance
    02. Prey – Shotgun mix
    03. Drifting – Poison Dub
    04. Jezebel – Filthy Dog mix
    05. Allelujah – NoisyChurch mix
    06. Stalker – Punished mix
    07. The Killing Ground – Solid State mix
    08. Black Box (excerpt)
    09. 5000 Years – A Romanian Elegy for Strings
    10. Strange Hours ’10 – featuring The Black Ships
    11. Missing Piece – Night Dissolves
    12. Shunt – Pan Sonic mix


    Recoil 2010 Tour Dates:
    05/14 – Mexico City, MX @ El Lunario
    05/15 – Austin, TX @ Elyslum
    05/18 – New York City, NY @ Poisson Rouge

Personalized Stories

Around The Web