Mos Def, Bat For Lashes, Norah Jones “Raise Hope For Congo”


    Raise Hope For Congo is the name what easily may be the most eclectic charity album of the year. Specifically designed to bring awareness to the plight of women and girls in the Democratic Republic of Congo, the 18-track effort features a diverse collection of musical super stars, including rapper Mos Def, piano maestro Norah Jones, UK dream popster Bat For Lashes, Mexican folk rock duo Rodrigo Y Gabriela, alt-rockers Travis, Latin fusion outfit Ozomatli, Irish singer/songwriter Damien Rice, American country star Sheryl Crow, and African duo Amadou & Mariam.

    The record was put together by KCRW DJ and Los Angeles Times Magazine contributor Nic Harcourt, Mercer Street/Downtown Records, and the Enough Project and is available as a digitial download starting today. A physical release will follow on June 22nd.

    Explains Enough Projector co-founder John Prendergast (via LA Times), “One of the principal reasons why there is little international response to the terrible human-rights crimes in Congo — particularly against women and girls — is that people just don’t know that these things are happening… This compilation album will be a beacon to light the path to educating hundreds of thousands of people about the issues in Congo and what all of us can do to help end the suffering there.”


    According to an issued press release, all profits raised through this compilation will help fund critical field research and awareness raising efforts that will work to end the conflict in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

    Find the complete tracklist below. For additional information about the Raise Hope For Congo project itself, click here.

    Raise Hope For Congo Tracklist:
    01. Lonely Soldier – Damien Rice
    02. Not Immune – Imaad Wasif
    03. Angel Mom – Jesca Hoop
    04. 40 – Meshell Ndegeocello
    05. Je t’aime – Staff Benda Bilili
    06. Leila – Angelique Kidjo
    07. Na Miso – Chantal Kreviazuk
    08. World of Trouble – Norah Jones
    09. My Name is Mwamaroyi – Sheryl Crow
    10. Don’t Let Me – Amel Larrieux
    11. Raise Hope – Omékongo Dibinga & Shahin Shahida
    12. Never Again – Ozomatli & The Agahoza Shalom Youth Village
    13. Sleep Alone – Bat For Lashes
    14. Before You Were Young (Live at Joe’s Pub) – Travis
    15. Hora Zero (Live at Wecheter) – Rodrigo y Gabriela
    16. Tambara – Amadou & Mariam
    17. Nsimba & Nzuzi – Konono No 1
    18. Priority (A Cappella) – Mos Def


Personalized Stories

Around The Web