Meet Bad Books, the new band from Kevin Devine & Manchester Orchestra


    It’s no secret that Kevin Devine and Manchester Orchestra’s Andy Hull enjoy each other’s company.  Their bands have shared the bill on at least a handful of tours, they covered one another’s songs on a recent single, and Devine is even signed to Favorite Gentlemen – the Manchester Orchestra-run record label founded and run by the band since 2007.  Now the pair wants to show you what they’ve really been up to.

    Born out of the simple idea of filling time off by collaborating on a small batch of songs, Devine and Hull’s new band – Bad Books – is set to digitally release their ten-track, self-titled debut on October 19th. And while you won’t be able to actually get your hands on a copy of the record until November 9th, there’s still plenty to be excited about. Lead single, “You Wouldn’t Have To Ask”, is a two-minute rocker that finds Hull singing alliterated lyrics in Devine’s unique vocal cadence, and the tune takes the acoustic strumming found on Devine’s 2006 effort – Put Your Ghost To Rest – and trades it in for a harder, frolicking riff reminiscent of something you might hear on a Manchester Orchestra record.

    Even though the songs clearly showcase the difference of styles, the boys didn’t save any breath reiterating what their songwriting differences meant to the partnership. Devine (who admits to wanting to “outthink” his instincts”) said that his meticulous nature and Hull’s willingness to write on the cuff and trust his own intuition “meshed really, really well,” while Hull was just excited that the Brooklyn-based Devine was “cool enough” to let him change a part or add a bridge here and there.


    A limited edition deluxe bundle and the first vinyl pressing have already sold out, but pre-orders for the second pressing and CDs are still on going at Favorite Gentlemen’s website. Check out the tracklist and “You Wouldn’t Have To Ask” below, and then catch the band at one of the five shows listed below. Tickets are available on the band’s website or on

    Check Out:
    “You Wouldn’t Have To Ask”

    Bad Books Tracklist:
    01. How This All Ends
    02. The Easy Mark & The Old Maid
    03. Baby Shows
    04. You’re a Mirror I Can’t Avoid
    05. Holding Down the Laughter
    06. You Wouldn’t Have To Ask
    07. I Begged You Everything
    08. Please Move
    09. Mesa, AZ
    10. Texas


    Bad Books 2010 Tour Dates:
    10/20 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom (CMJ Showcase)
    10/22 – Cambridge, MA @ T.T. The Bear’s Place
    10/23 – Philadelphia, PA @ The North Star Bar
    10/24 – Baltimore, MD @ The Ottobar
    11/24 – Atlanta, GA @ The Stuffing at The Center Stage Complex

Personalized Stories

Around The Web