Weezer announce rarities compilation, Death to False Metal


    If you donated money or even thought about doing so to the Weezer breakup campaign, then this one’s for you. Along with the already announced reissue of Pinkerton, Rivers Cuomo and Co. will use November 2nd to drop a rarities compilation entitled Death to False Metal. Best post-All Saints Day present ever!

    In an interview with NME (via Pitchfork), frontman Rivers Cuomo said the comp will feature “great songs, great recordings, but for some reason they didn’t make the final cut for a record.” Despite every fiber of logic in our body telling us otherwise,  tracks like “Blowin’ My Stack” and a cover of Toni Braxton’s “Un-Break My Heart” indicate that this very well may be the truth. Peep the whole tracklist below.

    As for the $10 million campaign itself, it’s over, ended just a several million dollars short of its goal. Undoubtedly spurned on by death threats, James Burns closed the project on The Point, writing that while the band didn’t break-up, “…I accomplished everything I ever hoped to… I did it for the lulz.” Truly a worthwhile goal if there ever was one.

    Both Death to False Metal and the Pinkerton reissue hits stores November 2nd via Geffen Records. And let’s not forget about the “Blinkerton”/”Memories” tour. Weezer nostalgia to the max.

    Death to False Metal Tracklist:
    01. Turning Up the Radio
    02. I Don’t Want Your Loving
    03. Blowin’ My Stack
    04. Losing My Mind
    05. Everyone
    06. I’m a Robot
    07. Trampoline
    08. Odd Couple
    09. Autopilot
    10. Un-Break My Heart