Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings 7″ vinyl box set released


    dapt02112 Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings 7 vinyl box set released

    Let me guess: those mythical L-tryptophan acids from your Thanksgiving turkey kept you in bed till noon on Black Friday. By the time you got to your local record store, all those Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings vinyl box sets were sold out. Well, that’s a pathetic excuse, ‘cause that trypto stuff is all BS.

    Looks like the Gods of Funk and Soul have decided to smile upon you anyway. Through the Daptone Records store, you can now order the limited edition 7” vinyl box set of Ms. Jones and the Kings’ latest record, I Learned The Hard Way. Spread across eleven (11!) 45s, you’ll get eight of the twelve album tracks b-sided with instrumental versions. There’s also one instrumental track, “The Reason,” with a previously unreleased vocal version, “Give Me A Reason.”


    For those keeping count, you’ll get the out-of-print “When I Came Home” as well. The track was originally available exclusively with the initial album pre-orders. Lastly, though not pictured, you’ll get a 28-page, 7×7 full color booklet of shots from the I Learned The Hard Way recording sessions and release parties.

    You can pick up the set just in time for the Holidays for about $45 at Daptone. If you’ve still got some wrapping paper left over, we’ve got some suggestions and recommendations for you. The SJDK track listing is down yonder.

    I Learned The Hard Way Box Set Tracklist:
    Disc 1
    01. The Game Gets Old
    02. The Game Gets Old (instrumental)


    Disc 2
    03. I Learned The Hard Way
    04. I Learned The Hard Way (instrumental)

    Disc 3
    05. Better Things
    06. Better Things (instrumental)

    Disc 4
    07. Give It Back
    08. Give It Back (instrumental)

    Disc 5
    09. Money
    10. Money (instrumental)

    Disc 6
    11. Give Me A Reason
    12. The Reason (extended, instrumental)

    Disc 7
    13. Windows Shopping
    14. Windows Shopping (instrumental)

    Disc 8
    15. She Ain’t a Child
    16. If You Call

    Disc 9
    17. I’ll Still Be True
    18. I’ll Still Be True (instrumental)

    Disc 10
    19. Without a Heart
    20. Without a Heart (instrumental)

    Disc 11
    21. Mama Don’t Like My Man
    22. When I Come Home

Personalized Stories

Around The Web