Sloan announce new album, The Double Cross


    Toronto power-pop gods Sloan turn 20 in 2011, but are showing no signs of slowing down. On May 10th, the quartet will release their tenth full length, The Double Cross, via YepRoc Records, and the album’s lead track, “Follow the Leader”, can be streamed below.

    “I think every band always says of their latest LP, ‘it’s our best yet!’ or perhaps ‘it’s our greatest work since Exile on Main St.‘, and then you hear it and you say to yourself, ‘hmm, well, not quite, guys’,” explained Sloan guitarist Jay Ferguson in an issued statement. “Hopefully I’m not joining those ranks, but for this our 10th album, I personally feel it’s up there with my favorites of ours. Short and sweet with unexpected turns down different paths.”

    Along with the aforementioned mp3, The Double Cross‘ 12-song tracklist can also be found below. According to Jambase, the band plans to support the release with a U.S. tour, but dates are still forthcoming.

    “Follow the Leader”

    The Double Cross Tracklist:
    01. Follow the Leader
    02. The Answer Was You
    03. Unkind
    04. Shadow of Love
    05. She’s Slowing Down Again
    06. Green Gardens, Cold Montreal
    07. It’s Plain to See
    08. Your Daddy Will Do
    09. I’ve Gotta Know
    10. Beverly Terrace
    11. Traces
    12. Laying So Low