The Roots, Lou Reed, Yim Yames guest on new Booker T. Jones album


    Booker T. Jones, the frontman of Booker T. and the MGs, is a musical journeyman, having played with everyone from Stephen Stills to Rancid, and nabbing himself a Grammy lifetime achievement award and a spot in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame during his 50-plus-year musical career. Now, as he prepares to release his next album, The Road From Memphis, a few acts he undoubtedly had some influence on are lending a hand.

    The likes of Lou Reed, Sharon Jones, The National’s Matt Berninger, My Morning Jacket’s Jim James (aka Yim Yames), soul guitarist Dennis Coffey, Rob Schnapf (who has worked with Elliott Smith and Beck), and ?uestlove, who co-produced the album alongside Jones, all make cameos on the 11-track effort, reports Pitchfork. Along with their drummer helming the board, The Roots also serve as back-up band for Jones. Check out the tracklist below and Jones’ upcoming tour dates to boot.

    The Road From Memphis hits stores May 10th via Anti-.

    The Road From Memphis Tracklist:
    01. Walking Papers
    02. Crazy
    03. Progress (feat. Yim Yames)
    04. The Hive
    05. Down in Memphis
    06. Everything Is Everything
    07. Rent Party
    08. Representing Memphis (feat. Matt Berninger and Sharon Jones)
    09. The Vamp
    10. Harlem House
    11. The Bronx (feat. Lou Reed)


    Booker T. Jones Tour Dates:
    02/18 – Charlottesville, VA @ Paramount Theatre
    06/11 – Chicago, IL @ Old Town School of Folk
    07/16 – Winthrop, WA @ Winthrop Blues Ranch