Arcade Fire, Neil Young big winners at 2011 Juno Awards


    Since 1970, the Juno Awards have served as Canada’s equivalent to the Grammys, only it didn’t take 40 years for Neil Young to nab an honor (Harvest Moon took home the Juno for Best Album in 1994). This year’s awards were handed out this weekend, and along with Young scoring both Artist of the Year and Adult Alternative Album of the Year for Le Noise, Arcade Fire was the night’s other big winner. The Win Butler-led outfit and their third LP The Suburbs won four awards, earning Album of the Year, Alternative Album of the Year,  Songwriters of the Year, and Group of the Year.

    Other winners included Katy Perry’s Teenage Dream for International Album of the Year, Shad’s TSOL for Rap Recording of the Year, and Caribou’s Swim for Electronic Recording of the Year. Check out the full winners list below.

    Album of the Year

    Arcade Fire – The Suburbs

    Drake – Thank Me Later

    Hedley – The Show Must Go On

    Johnny Reid – A Place Called Love

    Justin Bieber – My World 2.0

    International Album of the Year

    Katy Perry – Teenage Dream

    Eminem – Recovery

    Ke$ha – Animal

    Lady Antebellum – Need You Now

    Taylor Swift – Speak Now

    Artist of the Year

    Neil Young

    Johnny Reid


    Justin Bieber

    Sarah McLachlan

    Group of the Year

    Arcade Fire

    Broken Social Scene

    Down with Webster

    Great Big Sea

    Three Days Grace

    Single of the Year

    Young Artists for Haiti – “Wavin’ Flag”

    Classified – “Oh Canada”

    Drake – “Find Your Love”

    Hedley – “Perfect”

    kd lang – “Hallelujah Vancouver Winter 2010”

    Juno Fan Choice Award

    Justin Bieber



    Johnny Reid

    Michael Bublé

    Alternative Album of the Year

    Arcade Fire – The Suburbs

    Broken Social Scene – Forgiveness Rock Record

    Karkwa – Les chemins de verre

    Owen Pallett – Heartland

    Tokyo Police Club – Champ

    Adult Alternative Album of the Year

    Neil Young – Le Noise

    Black Dub – Black Dub

    Justin Nozuka – You I Wind Land and Sea

    Luke Doucet – Steel City Trawler

    Sarah Harmer – Oh Little Fire

    Rock Album of the Year

    Matthew Good – Vancouver

    Cancer Bats – Bears, Mayors, Scraps & Bones

    Die Mannequin – Fino + Bleed

    Finger Eleven – Life Turns Electric

    Hail the Villain – Population: Declining

    Rap Recording of the Year

    Shad – TSOL

    D-Sisive – Vaudeville

    Drake – Thank Me Later

    Eternia & MoSS – At Last

    Ghettosocks – Treat of the Day

    Electronic Album of the Year

    Caribou – Swim

    Chilly Gonzales – Ivory Tower

    Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles II

    Holy Fuck – Latin

    Poirier – Running High

    New Artist of the Year

    Meaghan Smith

    Basia Bulat

    Bobby Bazini


    Hannah Georgas

    New Group of the Year

    Said the Whale

    Die Mannequin


    Misteur Valaire

    My Darkest Days

Personalized Stories

Around The Web