Eddie Vedder details new solo album, Ukulele Songs


    One week after the album’s lead single hit the web, Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder has officially detailed his much-rumored ukulele-based solo album. Due for release May 31st, the aptly titled Ukulele Songs consists of 16 original songs and covers, many of which have been performed live but were never released. Also of note is a ukulele version of Pearl Jam’s 2002 track “Can’t Keep”, as well as guest appearances by The Swell Season’s Glen Hansard and Cat Power.

    The follow-up to Vedder’s 2007 soundtrack for Into The Wild will be released alongside a live DVD entitled Water On The Road. According to Billboard, the effort features Vedder playing Pearl Jam and ukulele songs, covers, and selections Into The Wild at a pair of Washington D.C. solo shows from Aug. 16 and 17, 2008. It was directed by Christoph Green and Fugazi’s Brendan Canty. Below, you can watch an early taste in the form of the clip for “You’re True”.

    Along with the video, the aforementioned lead single, “Longing To Belong”, is now available through digitial outlets. The single’s artwork can be found to your top right.


    Ukulele Songs Tracklist:
    01. Can’t Keep
    02. Sleeping by Myself
    03. Without You
    04. More Than You Know
    05. Goodbye
    06. Broken Heart
    07. Satellite
    08. Longing to Belong
    09. Hey Fahkah
    10. You’re True
    11. Light Today
    12. Sleepless Nights (feat. Glen Hansard)
    13. Once in Awhile
    14. Waving Palms
    15. Tonight You Belong to Me (feat. Cat Power)
    16. Dream a Little Dream

    Water On The Road Tracklist:
    01. The Canyon
    02. Sometimes
    03. Trouble
    04. Around the Bend
    05. Girl From the North Country
    06. Guaranteed
    07. Setting Forth
    08. Far Behind
    09. No Ceiling
    10. Rise
    11. Golden State
    12. Society
    13. Forever Young
    14. Ed Piano (Instrumental)
    15. I’m Open
    16. Man of the Hour
    17. Driftin’
    18. No More
    19. You’re True
    20. Ukulele Interlude (Instrumental)
    21. Unthought Known
    22. Arc
    23. Hard Sun
    24. The Canyon (reprise)

Around The Web