Check Out: Kate Bush – "Deeper Understanding"


Kate Bush‘s first release in six years comes in the form of Director’s Cut, which sees the iconic singer-songwriter revamping songs from two of her previous solo albums, 1989’s The Sensual World and 1993’s The Red Shoes, while “keeping the best musical performances of each song.” Our first taste comes in the form off the album’s lead single, “Deeper Understanding”. Clocking in nearly two minutes longer than the version originally released on The Sensual World, the reworked cut replaces an epic chorus and piano with synthesizer, vocoder, and a tripped-out harmonica. For comparison sake, both versions are posted below.

Bush has also revealed the 11-song tracklist for Director’s Cut. Along with the single, the album features a track entitled “‘Flower Of the Mountain”, which is a new version of The Sensual World‘s title track. “Originally when I wrote the song ‘The Sensual World’ I had used text from the end of ‘Ulysses’ by James Joyce, put to a piece of music I had written,” explains Bush in an issued press release. “When I asked for permission to use the text I was refused, which was disappointing. I then wrote my own lyrics for the song although I felt that the original idea had been more interesting.

“Well, I’m not James Joyce am I? When I came to work on this project I thought I would ask for permission again and this time they said yes. It is now re-titled ‘Flower Of the Mountain’ and I am delighted that I have had the chance to fulfill the original concept.”

The album also features three songs that were completely re-recorded, one of which is “This Woman’s Work”, off The Sensual World. Plus, long-time studio drummer Steve Gadd, bassist Danny Thompson, and vocalist Mica Paris make guest appearances.

Director’s Cut arrives May 16th via EMI. The single itself is available in the U.S. starting tomorrow.

Director’s Cut version

The Sensual World version

Director’s Cut Tracklist:
01. Flower of the Mountain
02. Song of Solomon
03. Deeper Understanding
04. Lily
05. Red Shoes
06. This Woman’s Work
07. Moments of Pleasure
08. Never be Mine
09. Top of the City
10. And so is Love
11. Rubberband Girl