The Book of Knots ready release of Garden of Fainting Stars


    Brooklyn-based quartet The Book of Knots have been an underground sensation for years with their presence in the art rock circuit. Featuring members of Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, Sparklehorse, and Pere Ubu, the quartet are ready to conclude their ”By Sea, By Land, By Air” trilogy with the release of the final chapter, Garden of Fainting Stars, on June 14th via Ipecac Recordings.

    As the “By Air” installment in the trilogy, Garden of Fainting Stars is inspired by the infinitely vast celestial world that sits above the clouds, otherwise known as space. The band provides a rather profound explanation of the album in their recent press release:  ”…A vast and empty universe stretching far beyond infinity, capable of containing the countless imaginary creatures, civilizations and otherwise terrestrial impossibilities that inhabit our dreams, dies in the fluorescent lighting of the laundry soap aisle at Walmart. Once again, we cast a wormless, rusty hook into the lifeless seas of the music industry, expecting to reap only sorrow.” The Book of Knots previously tackled the sea and the land with albums inspired by growing up in a small fishing community and a depressed steel town, 2004’s Book of Knots and 2007’s Traineater, respectively.

    In addition to the rather heavy musical concept, Garden of Fainting Stars is also stacked with quite the diverse guest musician roster. Making appearances on the LP are founding Einsturzende Neubauten member Blixa Bargeld, Mike Watt, Mr. Bungle/Secret Chiefs 3 guitarist Trey Spruance, and Ipecac Recordings’ co-owner Mike Patton (whose own musical resume is too lengthy to even list here).


    As previously mentioned, Garden of Fainting Stars hits stores on June 14th via Ipecac Recordings. Pre-orders are already available through Amazon, so head on over to reserve a copy. Peep the album’s full tracklist below.

    Garden of Fainting Stars Tracklist:
    01. Microgravity
    02. Drosophilia Melanogaster (feat. Blixa Bargeld)
    03. Moondust Must (feat. Nils Frykdahl and Dawn McCarthy)
    04. Lissajous Orbit (feat Aaron Lazar)
    05. Garden of Fainting Stars (feat. Elyas Khan)
    06. All This Nothing
    07. Yeager’s Approach (feat. Mike Watt)
    08. Planemo (feat. Mike Patton)
    09. Nebula Rasa
    10. Obituary For The Future (feat. Trey Spruance)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web