Check Out: She & Him cover Buddy Holly’s “Oh Boy”


    From the Hundred Acre Wood to the annals of rock history, She & Him are the latest act to tackle a Buddy Holly classic for the upcoming Rave On Buddy Holly compilation. Taking their vintage sensibilities and copious amounts of cuteness, Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward have reworked The Crickets‘ 1957 hit “Oh Boy” into something so quaint we might choke on how adorable it is. Still, it’s fun and melodic and true to the original; check it out below courtesy of Stereogum.

    Rave On Buddy Holly
    is due for release on June 28th via Fantasy Records/Concord Music Group.

    Rave On Buddy Holly Tracklist:
    01. The Black Keys – “Dearest”
    02. Fiona Apple and Jon Brion – “Every Day”
    03. Paul McCartney – “It’s So Easy”
    04. Florence and the Machine – “Not Fade Away”
    05. Cee-Lo – “(You’re So Square) Baby, I Don’t Care”
    06. Karen Elson – “Crying, Waiting, Hoping”
    07. Julian Casablancas – “Rave On”
    08. Jenny O. – “I’m Gonna Love You Too”
    09. Justin Townes Earle – “Maybe Baby”
    10. She & Him – “Oh Boy”
    11. Nick Lowe – “Changing All Those Changes”
    12. Patti Smith – “Words of Love”
    13. My Morning Jacket – “True Love Ways”
    14. Modest Mouse – “That’ll Be the Day”
    15. Kid Rock – “Well… All Right”
    16. Detroit Cobras – “Heartbeat”
    17. Lou Reed – “Peggy Sue”
    18. John Doe – “Peggy Sue Got Married”
    19. Graham Nash – “Raining in My Heart”