Jeff Mangum readies massive Neutral Milk Hotel back catalogue box set


    For a noted recluse, Jeff Mangum sure is a busy boy. On top of his own touring plans and upcoming ATP curating gig, Mangum has just launched a brand new site for Neutral Milk Hotel, complete with some rather hefty news regarding Mangum himself and the legendary indie rock outfit.

    On November 22nd, Mangum will self-release a vinyl-only box set comprised of every single one of the band’s albums and EPs along with some 15 unreleased tracks. Among the items included are the band’s two LPs (1996’s On Avery Island and 1998’s In the Aeroplane Over the Sea), a 7″ of two never-before-released songs in “You’ve Passed” b/w “Where You’ll Find Me Now”, another 7″ of unreleased and live versions of “Little Birds”, a picture disk 7″ for “Holland, 1945″, and a 10” called Ferris Wheel on Fire featuring eight unreleased acoustic recordings.

    Check out the box set’s entire tracklist below; mp3s versions of the aforementioned will also be available digitally for a pay-as-you-wish price. Mangum is also streaming the previously-unreleased “Oh Sister” / “Ferris Wheel on Fire” over at the NMH website right now.


    In addition to the box set, Magnum has additional tour dates in the works (check out his current itinerary below). In the meantime, he’s also started a 30-minute online radio show that will be updated “regularly”; the first episode is available here. And to cap off the latest news in “Just How Wonderful Jeff Mangum Is”, proceeds from both his tour and downloads of the box set will go to benefit Children of the Blue Sky, a charity for Mongolian youth.

    Neutral Milk Hotel Box Set Tracklist:
    On Avery Island
    01. Song Against Sex
    02. You’ve Passed
    03. Someone Is Waiting
    04. A Baby for Pree
    05. Marching Theme
    06. Where You’ll Find Me Now
    07. Avery Island/April 1st
    08. Gardenhead/Leave Me Alone
    09. Three Peaches
    10. Naomi
    11. April 8th
    12. Pree-Sisters Swallowing a Donkey’s Eye

    In the Aeroplane over the Sea 12″
    01. The King of Carrot Flowers Pt 1
    02. The King of Carrot Flowers Pts 2 & 3
    03. In the Aeroplane Over the Sea
    04. Two-Headed Boy
    05. The Fool
    06. Holland, 1945
    07. Communist Daughter
    08. Oh Comely
    09. Ghost
    10. Untitled
    11. Two-Headed Boy Pt. 2


    Everything Is 10″
    Side A
    01. Everything Is
    02. Here We Are (for W. Cullen Hart)
    03. Unborn

    Side B
    04. Tuesday Moon
    05. Ruby Bulbs
    06. Snow Song, Pt. 1
    07. Aunt Eggma Blowtorch

    Ferris Wheel on Fire 10″
    Side A
    01. Oh Sister
    02. Ferris Wheel on Fire
    03. Home
    04. April 8th

    Side B
    05. I Will Bury You In Time
    06. Engine
    07. A Baby For Pree/Glow Into You
    08. My Dream Girl Don’t Exist

    Holland, 1945  7″
    Side A
    01. Holland, 1945

    Side B
    02. Engine

    You’ve Passed/Where You’ll Find Me Now 7″
    Side A
    01. You’ve Passed

    Side B
    02. Where You’ll Find Me Now

    Little Birds 7″
    Side A
    01. Little Birds (studio)

    Side B
    02. Little Birds (live)

    Jeff Mangum 2011 Tour Dates:
    09/07 – Northampton, MA @ Academy of Music Theatre
    09/09 – Cambridge, MA @ Sanders Theatre at Harvard University
    09/10 – Boston, MA @ Jordan Hall at New England Conservatory
    09/26 – Baltimore, MD @ 2640 Space at St. John’s Church
    09/27 – Baltimore, MD @ 2640 Space at St. John’s Church
    09/30 – Asbury Park, NJ @  ATP New Jersey
    10/02 – Asbury Park, NJ @ ATP New Jersey
    10/03 – Asbury Park, NJ @ ATP New Jersey
    10/29 – New York, NY @ Town Hall
    11/06 – Jersey City, NJ @ Loew’s Theatre
    11/30 – Dublin, UK @ Whelan’s
    12/04 – Minehead, UK @ ATP Minehead (curated by Jeff Magnum)
    12/08-09 London, UK @ ATP