R.E.M. details greatest hits album: Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage, 1982 – 2011


    r e m part lies part heart part truth part garbage 1982 2011 R.E.M. details greatest hits album: Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage, 1982   2011

    As previously reported, the recently disbanded R.E.M. will release a career-spanning retrospective, Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage: 1982-2011, on November 15th via Warner Bros. Records. Today, an issued press release unveiled the compilation’s artwork (see above) and its lengthy tracklist. Spanning two discs and 40 tracks, Part Lies… will include material from the band’s entire back catalog, from their time as an underground rock sensations on IRS to their mainstream superstardom while signed to Warner Bros. Records.

    In addition to classics like “Radio Free Europe”, “Orange Crush”, Man On The Moon”, and Coldplay’s favorite tune “Everybody Hurts”, the compilation will also include three new songs (“A Month of Saturdays, “We All Go Back To Where We Belong”, and “Hallelujah”), which were recorded with producer Jacknife Lee following the release of their most recent LP, Collapse Into Now. “We All Go Back To Where We Belong” will serve as the lead single and will hit both the radio and record shelves on October 18th.

    The compilation will also include liner notes written by R.E.M’s four founding members, Michael Stipe, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and Bill Berry. Said Mills in an issued statement: “Working through our music and memories from over three decades was a hell of a journey…We realized that these songs seemed to draw a natural line under the last 31 years of our working together.”


    Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage, 1982 – 2011 Tracklist:
    Disc 1:
    01. Gardening At Night
    02. Radio Free Europe
    03. Talk About The Passion
    04. Sitting Still
    05. So. Central Rain
    06. (Don’t Go Back To) Rockville
    07. Driver 8
    08. Life And How To Live It
    09. Begin The Begin
    10. Fall On Me
    11. Finest Worksong
    12. It’s The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
    13. The One I Love
    14. Stand
    15 Pop Song 89
    16. Get Up
    17. Orange Crush
    18. Losing My Religion
    19. Country Feedback
    20. Shiny Happy People

    Disc 2:
    01. The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite
    02. Everybody Hurts
    03. Man On The Moon
    04. Nightswimming
    05. What’s The Frequency, Kenneth?
    06. New Test Leper
    07. Electrolite
    08. At My Most Beautiful
    09. The Great Beyond
    10. Imitation Of Life
    11. Bad Day
    12. Leaving New York
    13. Living Well Is The Best Revenge
    14. Supernatural Superserious
    15. Ãœberlin
    16. Oh My Heart
    17. Alligator_Aviator_Autopilot_Antimatter
    18. A Month of Saturdays
    19. We All Go Back To Where We Belong
    20. Hallelujah

Personalized Stories

Around The Web