Bob Dylan tribute album Chimes of Freedom reveals insane tracklist


    Last month we told you of an upcoming Bob Dylan tribute album being put together in celebration of Amnesty International’s 50th anniversary. At the time, My Morning Jacket, Adele, David Matthews Band, and Ke$ha were among the confirmed participants. Now, the set’s entire tracklist has been revealed, and Ke$ha’s cover of ”Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right” is just the beginning of the insanity.

    Spanning four discs and 75 tracks (!!!), Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan Honoring 50 Years of Amnesty International packages together new or previously unreleased Dylan covers from artist of all different genres and generations. Obvious highlights include covers of “You’re A Big Girl Now” by MMJ, “Outlaw Blues” by Queens of the Stone Age, ”Not Dark Yet” by Silversun Pickups, “Drifter’s Escape” by Patti Smith, and “Lay Down Your Weary Tune” by Billy Bragg.

    Other notable contributors include The Who’s Pete Townshend (“Corrina, Corrina”), Sting (“Girl from the North Country”), Bryan Ferry (“Bob Dylan’s Dream”), The Gaslight Anthem (“Changing of the Guards”), Elvis Costello (“License to Kill”), Mark Knopfler (“Restless Farewell”), Sinéad O’Connor (“Property of Jesus”), Joan Baez (“Seven Curses (Live)”), Fistful Of Mercy (“Buckets Of Rain”), Bad Religion (“It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue”), Cage the Elephant (“The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll”), and Pete Seeger (“Forever Young”). Dylan himself contributes the album’s namesake.


    And just because, Ms. “On Melancholy Hill”  (aka Miley Cyrus) takes on “You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go” and Maroon 5 tackles “ I Shall Be Released”. Also, Seal and Jeff Beck randomly team up for a reworking of “Like A Rolling Stone” and actress Evan Rachel Wood contributes her cover of “I’d Have You Anytime”.

    The collection is scheduled for physical and digital release in North America on January 24th, 2012 via Fontana Distribution. It will then be distributed internationally through Fontana International on January 30th. All profits will go to benefit Amnesty International.

    Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan Honoring 50 Years of Amnesty International Tracklist:
    Disc 1
    01. Raphael Saadiq – Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
    02. Patti Smith – Drifter’s Escape
    03. Rise Against – Ballad of Hollis Brown
    04. Tom Morello The Nightwatchman – Blind Willie McTell
    05. Pete Townshend – Corrina, Corrina
    06. Bettye LaVette – Most of the Time
    07. Charlie Winston – This Wheel’s On Fire
    08. Diana Krall – Simple Twist of Fate
    09. Brett Dennen – You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere
    10. Mariachi El Bronx – Love Sick
    11. Ziggy Marley – Blowin’ in the Wind
    12. The Gaslight Anthem – Changing of the Guards
    13. Silversun Pickups – Not Dark Yet
    14. My Morning Jacket – You’re A Big Girl Now
    15. The Airborne Toxic Event – Boots of Spanish Leather
    16. Sting – Girl from the North Country
    17. Mark Knopfler – Restless Farewell


    Disc 2
    01. Queens Of The Stone Age – Outlaw Blues
    02. Lenny Kravitz – Rainy Day Woman # 12 & 35
    03. Steve Earle & Lucia Micarelli – One More Cup of Coffee (Valley Below)
    04. Blake Mills – Heart Of Mine
    05. Miley Cyrus – You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go
    06. Billy Bragg – Lay Down Your Weary Tune
    07. Elvis Costello – License to Kill
    08. Angelique Kidjo – Lay, Lady, Lay
    09. Natasha Bedingfield – Ring Them Bells
    10. Jackson Browne – Love Minus Zero/No Limit
    11. Joan Baez – Seven Curses (Live)
    12. The Belle Brigade – No Time To Think
    13. Sugarland – Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You (Live)
    14. Jack’s Mannequin – Mr. Tambourine Man
    15. Oren Lavie – 4th Time Around
    16. Sussan Deyhim – All I Really Want To Do
    17. Adele – Make You Feel My Love (Recorded Live at WXPN)

    Disc 3
    01. K’NAAN – With God On Our Side
    02. Ximena Sari̱ana РI Want You
    03. Neil Finn with Pajama Club – She Belongs to Me
    04. Bryan Ferry – Bob Dylan’s Dream
    05. Zee Avi – Tomorrow Is A Long Time
    06. Carly Simon – Just Like a Woman
    07. Flogging Molly – The Times They Are A-Changin’
    08. Fistful Of Mercy – Buckets Of Rain
    09. Joe Perry – Man Of Peace
    10. Bad Religion – It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue
    11. My Chemical Romance – Desolation Row (Live)
    12. RedOne featuring Nabil Khayat – Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door
    13. Paul Rodgers & Nils Lofgren – Abandoned Love
    14. Darren Criss featuring Chuck Criss and Freelance Whales – New Morning
    15. Cage the Elephant – The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll
    16. Band of Skulls – It Ain’t Me, Babe
    17. Sinéad O’Connor – Property of Jesus
    18. Ed Roland and The Sweet Tea Project – Shelter From The Storm
    19. Ke$ha – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
    20. Kronos Quartet – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

    Disc 4
    01. Maroon 5 – I Shall Be Released
    02. Carolina Chocolate Drops – Political World
    03. Seal & Jeff Beck – Like A Rolling Stone
    04. Taj Mahal – Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream
    05. Dierks Bentley – Senor (Tales of Yankee Power) (Live)
    06. Mick Hucknall – One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later)
    07. Thea Gilmore – I’ll Remember You
    08. State Radio – John Brown
    09. Dave Matthews Band – All Along the Watchtower (Live)
    10. Michael Franti – Subterranean Homesick Blues
    11. We Are Augustines – Mama, You Been On My Mind
    12. Lucinda Williams – Tryin’ To Get To Heaven
    13. Kris Kristofferson – Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)
    14. Eric Burdon – Gotta Serve Somebody
    15. Evan Rachel Wood – I’d Have You Anytime
    16. Marianne Faithfull – Baby Let Me Follow You Down (Live)
    17. Pete Seeger – Forever Young
    18. Bob Dylan – Chimes Of Freedom