Macy Gray announces Covered album


    There have been some pretty head-scratchingly awesome cover songs coming out lately, like Green Day doing the Misfits, Ryan Adams soundchecking Galaxie 500, or The Kills making Christmas creepy. Raspy voiced R&B singer-songwriter Macy Gray is joining in on the fun with a new album entitled Covered, full of, you guessed it, cover tracks. And there are some wild choices.

    Due March 27th from 429 Records (a unit of SLG), the record runs the gamut from pop to indie, metal to rap. Gray even touches on ’80s new wave with the first single, a version of the Eurythmics’ “Here Comes the Rain Again”. She goes indie with Arcade Fire’s “Wake Up” and “Maps” from Yeah Yeah Yeahs, hard with “Nothing Else Matters” by Metallica and My Chemical Romance’s “Teenagers”, and shows love to Kanye with “Love Lockdown”. Hell, she’s even got “Two Joints” from Sublime (without Rome) on there. Yeah, it’s gonna be something, all right.

    Of course, Ms. Gray will be putting her own soulful spin on the numbers, so don’t expect  to be moshing about, even with the Metallica track. In fact, she’s been playing a few of the songs live for a few years now. Below, you can watch her cover Radiohead’s classic “Creep” – which will be on Covered – at the 2010 North Sea Jazz Festival in the Netherlands. The full tracklist follows. An extensive tour is expected to support the release, so stay tuned for more.



    Covered Tracklist:
    01. Maps (Yeah Yeah Yeahs)
    02. Wake Up (Arcade Fire)
    03. Nothing Else Matters (Metallica)
    04. Teenagers (My Chemical Romance)
    05. Here Comes the Rain Again (Eurythmics)
    06. Creep (Radiohead)
    07. Bubbly (Colbie Caillat)
    08. Love Lockdown (Kanye West)
    09. Two Joints (Sublime)
    10. Sleep to Dream (Fiona Apple)
    11. Sail (AWOLNATION)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web