Video: “The Gravedigger’s Song” – Mark Lanegan Band (CoS Premiere)


    Mark Lanegan Band - "The Gravedigger's Song"

    On February 7th, Mark Lanegan Band will release Blues Funeral, the group’s long-awaited follow up to their 2004 album, Bubblegum. We’ve already heard the menacing and bluesy cut “The Gravedigger’s Song”, and now there’s an equally freaky music video. Directed by Alistair Legrand and produced by Jack Richardson, the video pulls bits and pieces from dozens of famous horror movies out there. From scythe-wielding children to taxidermy a la Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho, it’s enough to keep you squirming in your seat for the entire duration. It also provides a quaint backdrop for Lanegan’s rough growl and the track’s sinister imagery. Check it out below.

    Blues Funeral is out February 7th via 4AD.

    Blues Funeral Tracklist:
    01. The Gravedigger’s Song
    02. Bleeding Muddy Water
    03. Gray Goes Black
    04. St Louis Elegy
    05. Riot In My House
    06. Ode To Sad Disco
    07. Phantasmagoria Blues
    08. Quiver Syndrome
    09. Harborview Hospital
    10. Leviathan
    11. Deep Black Vanishing Train
    12. Tiny Grain Of Truth