Neil Young and Crazy Horse detail new album: Americana


    neil young americana Neil Young and Crazy Horse detail new album: Americana

    As previously reported, Neil Young and Crazy Horse have two new albums on the way. The first, Americana, will arrive on June 5th via Reprise Records, according to It’ll mark the band’s first album since 2003, and their first album with the full Crazy Horse lineup of Billy Talbot, Ralph Molina and Frank “Poncho” Sampedro since 1996.

    According to an issued press release, Americana was recorded at Audio Casa Blanca and was produced by Young and John Hanlon with Mark Humphreys. Young previously said the album comprises rearrangements of “songs we all know from kindergarten” with help from a children’s choir. He wasn’t kidding.

    The 11-track effort, described as a “collection of classic, American folk songs,” packs tracks like “Oh Susannah”, “This Land Is Your Land”, and “She’ll Be Comin’ Round The Mountain”. There’s also a reworking of the British national anthem, “God Save The Queen”, which was previously America’s de facto national anthem before the establishment of The Union.


    An issued press release offers the following:

    “Each of these compositions is very much part of the fabric of our American heritage; the roots of what we think of as “Americana” in cultural terms, using songs as a way of passing along information and documenting our past…

    “What ties these songs together is the fact that while they may represent an America that may no longer exist. The emotions and scenarios behind these songs still resonate with what’s going on in the country today with equal, if not greater impact nearly 200 years later. The lyrics reflect the same concerns and are still remarkably meaningful to a society going through economic and cultural upheaval, especially during an election year. They are just as poignant and powerful today as the day they were written.”

    The band’s as-yet-untitled second album is “still in the works” as of last February.


    Americana Tracklist:
    01. Oh Susannah
    02. Clementine
    03. Tom Dooley
    04. Gallows Pole
    05. Get A Job
    06. Travel On
    07. High Flyin’ Bird
    08. She’ll Be Comin ’Round The Mountain
    09. This Land Is Your Land
    10. Wayfarin’ Stranger
    11. God Save The Queen

Personalized Stories

Around The Web