Parlovr announces sophomore album: Kook Soul


pav Parlovr announces sophomore album: Kook Soul

Montreal’s resident “slop pop” band Parlovr will release its sophomore LP, Kook Soul, on May 15th via Dine Alone. Recorded last winter with Martin Horn at Montreal’s Digital Bird Studios, the album’s sonic makeup takes its cues from retro surf rock, ’50s soul, and The Flaming Lips’ The Soft Bulletin, according to a press release. Lyrically, the aim is to incite pangs of romantic nostalgia, be it “heartbreak, infatuation, teenage love, old-age regret, (or) faded feelings.”

The record’s first single, “You Only Want It ‘Cause You’re Lonely”, is more akin to an early, bluesier Rolling Stones track with crunchy guitars, howling vocals, and a vibe that recalls the air in a room after a bad breakup. Find it below (via Exclaim!), followed by the album tracklist.

Kook Soul Tracklist:
01. Do You Remember
02. Just Marriage
03. Holding on to Something
04. Now That You’re Gone
05. Married On A Sunday
06. You Only Want It Cause You’re Lonely
07. 4000
08. Fisticuffs & Affidavits
09. Amaze-Me-Jane
10. General Hell (True Love Fades)
11. Bad Faith
12. It Only Happens To The Ones In Love