New Music: Minus the Bear – “Lonely Gun”


minus the bear 2012 New Music: Minus the Bear   Lonely Gun

Minus the Bear’s recently-announced fifth album, Infinity Overheard, is described as a “return to form in direction, instrumentation, and creation.” The album’s first single, “Lonely Gun”, is evidence of just such a musical homecoming, utilizing a muted guitar and minimalist synth to create an ecstatic blend of math- and dance-rock. Stream it now at

“‘Lonely Gun’ came out of a deep depression,” singer/guitarist Jake Snider said. “I was thinking about how lonely an unused gun must be, its purpose unfulfilled, like a loveless relationship. The only way to allow its purpose is to hold it – to use it.”

Infinity Overhead hits stores on August 28th via Dangerbird Records.

Infinity Overhead Tracklist:
01. Steel and Blood
02. Lies and Eyes
03. Diamond Lightning
04. Toska
05. Listing
06. Heaven Is A Ghost Town
07. Empty Party Rooms
08. Zeros
09. Lonely Gun
10. Cold Company

Latest Stories