New Music: Philip Glass – “Rubric” (Tyondai Braxton remix)


glassremixlp New Music: Philip Glass   Rubric (Tyondai Braxton remix)

As previously reported, composer Philip Glass’ 75th birthday is being celebrated with an all-star remix compilation entitled Rework: Philip Glass Remixed. The first track to surface comes from ex-Battles frontman Tyondai Braxton, who’s reworked Glass’ “Rubric” (off 1982’s Glassworks). In Braxton’s hands, the shimmery, horn-centric piece takes on a more glossy and minimalist vibe, with a distinctly electronic aesthetic now at its core. Stream it below (via Pitchfork).

Rework: Philip Glass Remixed hits stores on October 23rd via Orange Mountain Music/Ernest Jenning/The Kora Records. Organized by Beck and producer Hector Castillo, the compilation also features Dan Deacon, Pantha du Prince, Amon Tobin, and more.

Rework: Philip Glass Remixed Tracklist:
Disc 1
01. My Great Ghost – Music in Twelve Parts, Part 1
02. Tyondai Braxton – Rubric (Remix)
03. Nosaj Thing – Knee 1 (Remix)
04. Dan Deacon -Alight Spiral Ship (Philip Glass Remix)
05. Amon Tobin -Warda’s Whorehouse Inside Out Version
06. Silver Alert -Etoile Polaire: Little Dipper
07. Memory Tapes – Floe ’87 (Remix)
08. Cornelius 3 – Opening From Glassworks

Disc 2
01. Beck – NYC: 73-78
02. Jóhann Jóhannsson – Protest (Remix)
03. Pantha du Prince – Mad Rush Organ (Remix)
04. Peter Broderick – Island (Remix)

Latest Stories