My Morning Jacket, Ed Sharpe, Sharon Van Etten contribute to John Denver tribute album


    My Morning Jacket, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Dave Matthews, Sharon Van Etten and J Mascis will pay tribute to John Denver on a new tribute album due out in February 2013. The Music Is You: A Tribute to John Denver comes 15 years after the legendary musician’s death and 40 years after the release of his song “Rocky Mountain High”. A portion of the proceeds will be benefit environmental initiatives in John’s name.

    Other contributes include Josh Ritter, Old Crow Medicine Show, Evan Dando, Kathleen Edwards, Lucinda Williams, Bret Dennen, Blind Pilot, and more artists to be announced shortly. Check out the tentative tracklist below.

    The Music Is You: A Tribute to John Denver Tracklist:
    01. Dave Matthews – Take Me to Tomorrow
    02. My Morning Jacket – Leaving, on a Jet Plane
    03. Train – Sunshine On My Shoulders
    04. Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros – Wooden Indian
    05. Amos Lee – Some Days are Diamonds
    06. Lucinda Williams – TBA
    07. Brandi Carlile – Take Me Home, Country Roads
    08. Old Crow Medicine Show – Back Home Again
    09. Josh Ritter and Barnstar – Darcy Farrow
    10. Kathleen Edwards – All of My Memories (prod. Jim James)
    11. J Mascis and Sharon Van Etten – Prisoners
    12. Brett Dennen and Millow – Annie’s Song
    13. Blind Pilot – Eagle and the Hawk
    14. Mary Chapin Carpenter – I Guess He’d Rather Be In Colorado