R.E.M. announces 25th anniversary reissue of Green


    REM Green

    R.E.M. will celebrate the 25th anniversary of their 1988 album, Green, by releasing a deluxe edition reissue on May 14th via Rhino Records. The band’s sixth studio, and first with Warner Bros. Records, featured many of their biggest hits, specifically “Orange Crush”, “Pop Song 89″, and “Stand”, and has gone on to sell more than four million copies worldwide.

    The two-disc reissue will feature the remastered original album accompanied by a disc of live performances taken from the band’s concert in Greensboro, NC on November 10th, 1989; four postcards and a foldout poster; and liner notes by Uncut editor Allan Jones, all housed in a hard clamshell box. The reissue will also be pressed on 180-gram vinyl.

    What’s more, the band will release a limited edition, five-track EP as part of Record Store Day (April 20th), featuring a “handful of performances from the Greensboro show that, due to space constraints, are not found on the Deluxe Edition.”


    In recent years, R.E.M. has released similar reissues for its first five studio albums. It should be noted that the band’s seventh album, Out of Time, doesn’t turn 25 until 2016 — so your bank account has plenty of time to recover.

    Green: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Tracklist:
    Disc One – Original Album
    01. Pop Song 89
    02. Get Up
    03. You Are The Everything
    04. Stand
    05. World Leader Pretend
    06. The Wrong Child
    07. Orange Crush
    08. Turn You Inside Out
    09. Hairshirt
    10. I Remember California
    11. Untitled

    Disc Two – Live In Greensboro 1989
    01. Stand
    02. The One I Love
    03. Turn You Inside Out
    04. Belong
    05. Exhuming McCarthy
    06. Good Advices
    07. Orange Crush
    08. Cuyahoga
    09. These Days
    10. World Leader Pretend
    11. I Believe
    12. Get Up
    13. Life And How To Live It
    14. Its The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)
    15. Pop Song 89
    16. Fall On Me
    17. You Are The Everything
    18. Begin The Begin
    19. Low
    20. Finest Worksong
    21. Perfect Circle


    LIVE IN GREENSBORO EP – Record Store Day Exclusive Tracklist:
    01. So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry)
    02. Feeling Gravitys Pull
    03. Strange
    04. King of Birds
    05. I Remember California”

Around The Web