Gauntlet Hair announce sophomore album Stills, listen to “Human Nature”


gauntlethairstills1 Gauntlet Hair announce sophomore album Stills, listen to Human Nature

Denver-turned-Chicago gloomy post-punk duo Gauntlet Hair return with their sophomore album, Stills. The followup to their 2011 self-titled debut is ”a modern salute to Trent Reznor” that was recorded at Portland’s The Cave, owned and operated by Unknown Mortal Orchestra bassist Jacob Portrait. For inspiration, both drummer Craig Nice and singer and guitarist Andy R. turned to their respective pasts.

“I started listening again to the stuff I would have in my discman in the back of my mom’s car,” Nice explains. “White Zombie, Marilyn Manson — the production on those records is so amazing. Nothing sounds like that anymore.”

To see how far down the rabbit hole they went, the band’s dropped the album’s opening track, “Human Nature”. It’s a silver bullet of a listen that recalls less Reznor and more The Jesus and the Mary Chain, thanks to Andy R.’s vocals as he whimpers again and again: “Anytime I can make you smile / One time a week.” Stream below.

Stills hits stores July 16th via Dead Oceans.

Stills Tracklist:
01. Human Nature
02. Spew
03. Simple
04. Bad Apple
05. New To It
06. Obey Me
07. Heave
08. G.I.D.
09. Falling Out
10. Waste Your Art

Latest Stories