Bob Dylan to reissue universally hated 1970 album, Self Portrait


    dylan self portrait reissue

    Bob Dylan does what Bob Dylan wants, so on August 27th, he’ll offer a deluxe reissue of his universally disliked 1970 studio album, Self Portrait.

    Aptly titled Another Self Portrait, the four-disc set serves as the latest volume in Dylan’s ongoing Bootleg Series. According to Rolling Stone, it will include never-before-heard material from his original acoustic recording sessions and outtakes from Self Portrait along with material from 1968’s Nashville Skyline and 1970’s New Morning.

    A deluxe edition of the reissue will include a complete recording of Dylan and the Band’s 1969 performance at the Isle of Wight Festival as well as a remastered version of the original Self Portrait.


    Comprised mostly of well-known pop and folk cover songs, the album was recorded at the height of Dylan’s popularity in the 1969. Upon its release, it was panned by virtually every music critic, with Rolling Stone famously asking, “What is this shit?” Though, as Dylan explained to Rolling Stone in 1984, the album was intentionally terrible.

    At the time, Dylan was trying to raise a family in New York City and was disinterested in calls for him to lead the protest movement. “I said, ‘Well, fuck it. I wish these people would just forget about me. I wanna do something they can’t possibly like, they can’t relate to,” he explained. “They’ll see it, and they’ll listen, and they’ll say, ‘Well, let’s go on to the next person. He ain’t sayin’ it no more. He ain’t givin’ us what we want,’ you know? They’ll go on to somebody else.'”

    However, “The whole idea backfired,” he said. “Because the album went out there, and the people said, ‘This ain’t what we want,’ and they got more resentful. And then I did this portrait for the cover. I mean, there was no title for that album. I knew somebody who had some paints and a square canvas, and I did the cover up in about five minutes. And I said, ‘Well, I’m gonna call this album Self Portrait. . . To me, it was a joke. It wouldn’t have held up as a single album — then it really would’ve been bad, you know. I mean, if you’re gonna put a lot of crap on it, you might as well load it up!”


    Check out the reissue’s complete tracklist below.

    The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 – Another Self Portrait (1969-1971) Tracklist:
    CD 1
    01. Went to See the Gypsy (demo)
    02 In Search of Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    03. Pretty Saro (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    04. Alberta #3 (alternate version, Self Portrait)
    05. Spanish Is the Loving Tongue (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    06. Annie’s Going to Sing Her Song (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    07. Time Passes Slowly #1 (alternate version, New Morning)
    08. Only a Hobo (unreleased, Greatest Hits II)
    09. Minstrel Boy (unreleased, The Basement Tapes)
    10. I Threw It All Away (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
    11. Railroad Bill (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    12. Thirsty Boots (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    13. This Evening So Soon (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    14. These Hands (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    15. Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    16. House Carpenter (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    17. All the Tired Horses (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

    CD 2
    01. If Not For You (alternate version, New Morning)
    02. Wallflower (alternate version, 1971)
    03. Wigwam (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    04. Days of ’49 (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    05. Working on a Guru (unreleased, New Morning)
    06. Country Pie (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
    07. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight (Live With the Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
    08. Highway 61 Revisited (Live With the Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
    09. Copper Kettle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    10. Bring Me a Little Water (unreleased, New Morning)
    11. Sign on the Window (with orchestral overdubs, New Morning)
    12. Tattle O’Day (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    13. If Dogs Run Free (alternate version, New Morning)
    14. New Morning (with horn section overdubs, New Morning)
    15. Went to See the Gypsy (alternate version, New Morning)
    16. Belle Isle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    17. Time Passes Slowly #2 (alternate version, New Morning)
    18. When I Paint My Masterpiece (demo)

    Bob Dylan & the Band at Isle of Wight – August 31st, 1969
    01. She Belongs to Me
    02. I Threw It All Away
    03. Maggie’s Farm
    04. Wild Mountain Thyme
    05. It Ain’t Me, Babe
    06. To Ramona”/”Mr. Tambourine Man
    07. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine
    08. Lay Lady Lay
    09. Highway 61 Revisited
    10. One Too Many Mornings
    11. I Pity the Poor Immigrant
    12. Like a Rolling Stone
    13. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
    14. Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)
    15. Minstrel Boy
    16. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35