Polaris Music Prize 2013 shortlist includes Godspeed You! Black Emperor, METZ, and Purity Ring


    polaris 2013

    The Polaris Music Prize is the annual award given to the best Canadian album. Past winners have included Fucked Up, Caribou, Owen Pallett, Arcade Fire, and, most recently, Feist.

    Today, the shortlist of nominees for this year’s award were announced. They include: Godspeed You! Black Emperor (Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!), METZ (METZ), Purity Ring (Shrines), Metric (Synthetica), and Colin Stetson (New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light). The full list of nominees is posted below.

    A winner will announced during a gala to be held on September 23rd at The Carlu in Toronto.

    Polaris Prize 2013 shortlist:
    Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
    Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
    Metric – Synthetica
    Purity Ring – Shrines
    Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
    Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob
    A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
    Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends on This Kiss
    Young Galaxy – Ultramarine