Benefit album for India’s “untouchable” children features a who’s who of indie acts


    boatsindia Benefit album for Indias untouchable children features a whos who of indie acts

    Scotland-based art collective Transgressive North has teamed up with the children’s charity Love in Action to launch Everything Is New, an international arts project to help aid and support India’s Dalit (“untouchable”) children. On January 20th, Everything Is New will release two jam-packed benefit albums featuring a who’s who of U.S. and UK indie acts.

    The first album is the latest from Scottish indie rockers Marram, entitled Sun Choir, and features contributions from Jarvis Cocker, Owen Pallett, doseone, author Irvine Welsh, and more. The children’s chorus present throughout the album is comprised of kids from Love in Action’s Light of Love Children’s Home in southeast India.


    The 29-track, two-disc BOATS offers exclusive new tracks from Deerhoof, No Age, Bear in Heaven, Gang Gang Dance, Dan Deacon, YACHT, Rustie, Califone, Julian Lynch, and many more. Similar to the Sun Choir LP, each tracks samples the Light of Love children’s choir. Below, check out Four Tet’s contribution in the form of the the beguiling “Gillie Amma, I Love You”.

    Proceeds from the “Everything Is New” campaign will help provide food, clothing, education, and medical care to children throughout southeast India. Each album includes the 70-minute Everything Is New film, an “inspiring movie about the turning of the earth and the play of children. It tells a mythic story of togetherness, peril and hope.”


    Below, check out a video about “Everything Is New” followed by both tracklists:

    BOATS Tracklist:

    Disc 1:
    01. Rustie – Boatsss
    02. Max Tundra – You, The Living
    03. doseone – Weight in Song
    04. White Hinterland – Like a Dove
    05. Taken By Trees – In Love This Time
    06. Capybara – Angelo
    07. Ramona Falls – On the Line
    08. Son Lux – My Father’s Children
    09. Matthewdavid – Music Will Change the World
    10. The Ruby Suns – You Can Talk
    11. No Age – Birds Song
    12. Deerhoof – Play the Hand
    13. Califone – Those Mountains Are God’s Teeth
    14. Four Tet – Gillie Amma, I Love You

    Disc 2:
    01. Dan Deacon – Glace Voices
    02. Lucky Dragons – Between Suns
    03. High Places – Future’s Just Ahead
    04. Keepaway – You’re Silk
    05. YACHT – Icarus Complex
    06. El Guincho – Botes
    07. Sun Airway – Blue City / Sun City
    08. rRoxymore – Ask Iru
    09. A Sunny Day in Glasgow – Hey Tiger!
    10. Bear in Heaven – The Green
    11. Slanter – Sarsaparilla
    12. Gang Gang Dance – Upside Dawn
    13. Julian Lynch – Naava
    14. Physical Forms – Sound Lie
    15. Marram – Transgressor (feat. Jamie Stewart)


    Sun Choir Tracklist:
    01. Icarus Hope Choir
    02. Amma
    03. What If We (feat. Jarvis Cocker)
    04. We Fly a Kite (feat. Margaret Bennett)
    05. With Us Instead (feat. Owen Pallett)
    06. Valuables (Intro)
    07. Valuables (feat. doseone and Irvine Welsh)
    08 The Butterfly, the Moon (feat. White Hinterland)
    09. Seed I (Root, Shoot)
    10. Seed II (Flare)
    11. Falling From the Sun (feat. Jarvis Cocker and Margaret Bennett)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web