Greg Ginn’s Black Flag to release What The…, their first new album in 28 years


    blackflagwhathe Greg Ginns Black Flag to release What The..., their first new album in 28 years

    Legal squabbles be damned, Greg Ginn is trucking ahead with the first new Black Flag album since 1985’s In My Head. It’s titled What The…, spans 22 tracks, and includes previously released singles “Down in the Dirt” and “The Chase”. Although the album hasn’t properly been announced yet, details surfaced today courtesy of iTunes, which lists a November 5th release through Ginn’s SST imprint (via Brooklyn Vegan).

    The album was recorded by Black Flag’s new lineup of Ginn, Ron Reyes, Gregory Moore, and Dave Klein. Above is the cringeworthy album artwork that’s either a funny nod to ’90s bumper stickers, or a sign at how well of a relationship Ginn still has with his brother/former Black Flag artist Raymond Pettibon. Either way? Yikes.


    Stream “Down in the Dirt” below.

    What The… Tracklist:
    01. My Heart’s Pumping
    02. Down in the Dirt
    03. Blood and Ashes
    04. Now Is the Time
    05. Wallow in Despair
    06. Slow Your Ass Down
    07. It’s so Absurd
    08. Shut Up
    09. This Is Hell
    10. Go Away
    11. The Bitter End
    12. The Chase
    13. I’m Sick
    14. It’s Not My Time to Go-Go
    15. Lies
    16. Get Out of My Way
    17. Outside
    18. No Teeth
    19. To Hell and Back
    20. Give Me All Your Dough
    21. You Gotta Be Joking
    22. Off My Shoulders