Listen: A Perfect Circle’s “By and Down”, their first new song in a decade



    On November 26th, A Perfect Circle will release A Perfect Circle Live: Featuring Stone And Echo, a box set collecting the band’s three-album discography alongside a DVD of a 2011 performance at Red Rocks. A week before, on November 19th, the band will unveil Three Sixty, a 13-track (or, 19-track deluxe) greatest hits collection.

    Amid standbys like “Judith”, “3 Libras”, and “Passive” is a track entitled ”By and Down”, which serves as APC’s first new song in nearly a decade. Written during the early stages of the band’s re-emergence in 2010/2011, the five-minute piece of clanging drums and sweltering guitar hooks builds in volume and intensity like an art-rock Led Zeppelin. Listen to it now over at SPIN, or watch the band perform the song live below.

    In an interview with Rolling Stone, frontman Maynard James Keenan discussed the genesis of both releases:


    “Of course, record companies always have their little clause in their contract, about their right to release a greatest-hits record. I think that can be kind of weird sometimes, when you see ‘the greatest hits,’ no, no — ‘the greatest greatest hits.’ Releases by a record label that the band had nothing to do with, and there’s several versions of the same thing, over and over again. That’s kind of why we did the DVD and the box set. If you’re going to release a greatest hits, we should also offer something that’s not just the old recordings, rearranged. But on that greatest hits, there’s going to be the studio version of ‘By And Down’, which is the new track that we’ve been working on, that we never quite got around to recording.”

    Check out the Three Sixty tracklist below (pre-orders are ongoing). For more info on A Perfect Circle Live, head here.

    Three Sixty Tracklist:

    Standard Edition
    01. The Hollow
    02. Judith
    03. Orestes
    04. 3 Libras
    05. Weak And Powerless
    06. The Noose
    07. The Outsider
    08. Blue
    09. When The Levee Breaks
    10. Imagine
    11. Counting Bodies Like Sheep To The Rhythm Of The War Drums
    12. Passive
    13. By And Down


    Deluxe Edition
    Disc 1
    01. The Hollow
    02. Rose
    03. Judith
    04. Orestes
    05. 3 Libras
    06. The Package
    07. Weak And Powerless
    08. The Noose
    09. The Outsider
    10. Blue

    Disc 2
    01. Imagine
    02. Passive
    03. People Are People (live)
    04. Counting Bodies Like Sheep To The Rhythm Of The War Drums
    05. When The Levee Breaks
    06. By And Down
    07. 3 Libras (live)
    08. Gravity (live)
    09. Fiddle And The Drum (live)