Preview Beck’s new song, “Blue Moon”


Even though Beck’s highly-anticipated new album, Morning Phase, is due out in just a few weeks, we’ve barely heard any of it, save for the live debut of “Wave” late last year. That changes now —  kinda/sorta — with this newly surfaced album trailer, which includes a two-minute clip of the track “Blue Moon”. Check it out below.

As we noted in November, some of the material on Morning Phase dates back to 2005, from a session Beck did in Nashville. “I recorded a bunch of things real quick. Then I thought, ‘I need to come back and try this again,’” he explained. For his return visit in 2011, he hit the studio with Jack White and recorded several songs. Songs from the session, including “Waking Light”, “Blackbird Chain”, and “Country Down”, made it onto the final cut of Morning Phase.

Beck described Morning Phase as “California music,” adding, “The songs are coming out of a California tradition. I’m hearing the Byrds, Crosby Stills and Nash, Gram Parsons, Neil Young – the bigger idea of what that sound is to me.”

Morning Phase is due out on February 25th via Capitol Records.

Morning Phase Tracklist:
01. Morning
02. Heart Is A Drum
03. Say Goodbye
04. Waking Light
05. Unforgiven
06. Wave
07. Don’t Let It Go
08. Blackbird Chain
09. Evil Things
10. Blue Moon
11. Turn Away
12. Country Down

Latest Stories