Listen: Black Lips channel Neil Young on “Justice After All”


With “Boys in the Wood”Black Lips turned tales of hooliganism and bathtub gin into a country & western ballad. Today, they further showcase the roots-inspired aesthetic of next month’s Underneath The Rainbow by channeling the spirit of the almighty Neil Young.

Though the lyrics often echo Young’s blue-collar wit, it’s the music — the rumble of fuzzy guitars, the clamor of jangly drums, the charm of warbled harmonies — that makes “Justice After All” a dusty and scuffed up, yet true heart of gold. More thoughtful than outright rambunctious, the track’s essentially the filthy, flower-punk companion piece to Young’s own “Southern Man”. Listen in below:

Underneath The Rainbow is due out March 18th via Vice Records.

Underneath The Rainbow Tracklist:
01. Drive By Buddy
02. Smiling
03. Make You Mine
04. Funny
05. Dorner Party
06. Justice After All
07. Boys in the Woods
08. Waiting
09. Do the Vibrate
10. I Don’t Wanna Go Home
11. Dandelion Dust
12. Dog Years

Latest Stories