Listen: Miguel’s new song “Simplethings”, from HBO’s Girls soundtrack


    Photo by Philip Cosores

    Miguel has revealed his original contribution to the soundtrack for HBO’s Girls. Titled “Simplethings”, it a suave R&B-meets-rock rundown of all the little things that make the soulful superstar tick.

    A model? Nah. A debutante? He’ll pass on that posh life. “Just be a tough act to follow, you know, a free spirit with a wild heart,” he croons coolly over sharp electric guitar riffs. Who knew he was so easily pleased? (Read: Call me, Miguel). Check it out below.

    For more of the new Girls soundtrack, listen to Jenny Lewis’ “Completely Not Me” and Cat Power’s new “Free” remix.

    Girls Volume 2: All Adventurous Women Do… Tracklist:
    01. Vampire Weekend – “I’m Going Down”
    02. Jenny Lewis – “Completely Not Me” *
    03. M Ward – “I Get Ideas”
    04. Lily Allen – “Late Comer”
    05. Beck – “Blue Moon”
    06. Miguel – “simplethings” *
    07. Christina Perri – “I Don’t Wanna Break”
    08. Oasis – “Wonderwall”
    09. Zero DeZire – “It’s My Birthday (Remix)” *
    10. Aimee Mann – “How Am I Different”
    11. Father John Misty – “Nancy From Now On”
    12. Jake Bugg – “There’s A Beast And We All Feed It”
    13. Cat Power – “Free (Gigamesh Remix)” *
    14. Daniel Johnston – “Life In Vain (Live At Austin City Limits)”
    15. Michael Penn – “Daisy (From One Man’s Trash)” *

    * = Girls exclusive