Pharrell’s new album G I R L features Daft Punk, Justin Timberlake, Miley Cyrus, and Hans Zimmer


On March 3rd, Pharrell returns with G I R L, his first new solo album in eight years. Last night, he hosted a listening party for members of the UK media and according to early reports, the album is loaded with big-name guests.

Daft Punk previously recruited Pharrell to appear on Random Access Memories; now, the Robots are returning the favor as they appear on a track called “Gust of Wind”, according to Vice.

The Line of Best Fit described the track as such:

“Gust of Wind” is Pharrell’s “personal favourite” song on G  I  R  L, and he likes it so much that he plays it twice, excitedly jumping back to the start before the first play-through has even finished. He tells us that this one features “the robots,” and that the punchy offbeat guitar comes from a young Canadian prodigy called Francesco Yates. It begins with zigzagging strings, and then that unmistakeable vocoder voice wraps itself around the climbing bassline and pumps mightily, nigh-on unintelligibly through the chorus. “Mothership Other cannot go away” sings Skateboard P, repping his new iamOther creative collective. By this point, it becomes apparent that the narrative personae that Pharrell embodies on these songs are somehow more Romantic than the libidinous paramours of previous outings, and they are all the sexier and more endearing for it.

Meanwhile, Justin Timberlake joins Pharrell on a song called “Brand New”. The Line of Best Fit describes the track as “pure Off The Wall Michael Jackson at the peak of his disco funk powers.”

Miley Cyrus and Alicia Keys also make appearances on the album, as does Oscar-winning composer Hans Zimmer. According to Vice, Zimmer scored the album’s string section.

Below, check out the album’s tracklist and watch the video for lead single “Happy”.

In related news, Pharrell’s hat from the Grammys has been up for auction on eBay. Proceeds will benefit From One Hand to Another, a foundation that aims to “change the world one kid at a time by giving them the tools and resources to meet their unique potential.” As of press time, the bidding is up to $10,500.

G I R L Tracklist:
01. Marilyn Monroe
02. Brand New feat. Justin Timberlake
03. Hunter
04. Gush
05. Happy
06. Come Get It feat. Miley Cyrus
07. Gust of Wind feat. Daft Punk
08. Lost Queen
09. FREQ
10. You Know Who You Are feat. Alicia Keys
11. It Girl

Latest Stories