Ronnie James Dio honored with new tribute album, featuring Metallica, Motörhead, and more


A star-studded cast of rock and metal titans have come together to pay tribute to the late Ronnie James Dio with a new covers album.

Entitled This is Your Life, the album features contributions from MetallicaMotörhead, Anthrax, Rob Halford, and Tenacious D, as well as many of the musicians who performed with Dio up until his death in 2010. The album was produced by Dio’s longtime manager and wife Wendy.

All proceeds will benefit the Ronnie James Dio Stand Up and Shout Cancer Fund. It’s set for release on April 1st via Rhino Records.

Here’s the tracklist:

Ronnie James Dio: This Is Your Life Tracklist:
01. Anthrax – “Neon Knights” *
02. Tenacious D – “The Last In Line” *
03. Adrenaline Mob – “The Mob Rules”
04. Corey Taylor, Roy Mayorga, Satchel, Christian Martucci, Jason Christopher – “Rainbow In The Dark” *
05. Halestorm – “Straight Through The Heart” *
06. Motörhead with Biff Byford – “Starstruck” *
07. Scorpions – “The Temple Of The King” *
08. Doro – “Egypt (The Chains Are On)”
09. Killswitch Engage – “Holy Driver”
10. Glenn Hughes, Simon Wright, Craig Goldy, Rudy Sarzo, Scott Warren – “Catch The Rainbow” *
11. Oni Logan, Jimmy Bain, Rowan Robertson, Brian Tichy – “I” *
12. Rob Halford, Vinny Appice, Doug Aldrich, Jeff Pilson, Scott Warren – “Man On The Silver Mountain” *
13. Metallica – “Ronnie Rising Medley (Featuring A Light In The Black, Tarot Woman, Stargazer, Kill The King)” *
14. Dio – “This Is Your Life”

* = Previously unreleased

Latest Stories