Stream: Neneh Cherry’s new album Blank Project


    Neneh Cherry will return with her first solo effort in 18 years with Blank Project, which is set to hit stores on February 25th via Smalltown Supersound. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full at

    Blank Project follows Cherry’s Man (1996), which included “7 Seconds”, her Grammy-nominated duet with Senegalese singer Youssou N’Dour. The album also follows 2012’s The Cherry Thing, her collaborative effort with free jazz trio The Thing, which saw her covering the likes of Suicide, The Stooges, and MF Doom.

    Produced entirely by Four Tet’s Kieran Hebden, the new, 10-track effort is a collaboration with London production duo RockNumberNine and features a guest appearance by Robyn on “Out Of The Black”.


    According to a press release:

    “What stands out upon first listen is the album’s sparseness: loose drums and a few synthesizers are the only accompaniment to Neneh’s wildly poetic, sometimes-spoken, sometimes-screeching, soul-flooded and raw vocals. The space created by this minimal aesthetic leaves room for occasional pistes and flurries of rapid, yet throbbing and thunderous instrumentation. Featuring combined elements of beat poetry, avant-electronica and beautiful vocal melodies, it’s a record that uses simple ideas to create something entirely original.”

    Preorders for the album are ongoing. Below, stream the title track and check out the tracklist.

    Blank Project Tracklist:
    01. Across The Water
    02. Blank Project
    03. Naked
    04. Spit Three Times
    05. Weightless
    06. Cynical
    07. 422
    08. Out Of The Black (featuring Robyn)
    09. Dossier
    10. Everything

Personalized Stories

Around The Web