Thee Oh Sees announce new album, Drop, listen to “Penetrating Eye”


    When Thee Oh Sees announced their hiatus back in December, they softened the blow by coupling it with plans for a then-undetailed new album. Today, just 54 days since their little break began, John Dwyer and Co. have officially announced what’s to become their fifth full-length in just four years.

    Due out April 19th via Dwyer’s own Castle Face Records, Drop was recorded last fall at a “banana ripening warehouse.” It features contributions from Mikal Cronin, Greer McGettrick (from the Mallard), Casafis, and drummer Chris Woodhouse (who also owns the warehouse).

    According to Exclaim, the album is described as having “an emphasis on the pensive and the paranoid.” One song titled “Penetrating Eye” is billed as “the heaviest Oh Sees song yet,” while other tracks utilize mellotron and harpsichord. That’s the album artwork below, which looks like a nightmare as drawn by Frank Miller.


    Update: Listen to the first opening track, “Penetrating Eye”, below.

    Drop Tracklist:
    01. Penetrating Eye
    02. Encrypted Bounce
    03. Savage Victory
    04. Put Some Reverb on My Brother
    05. Drop
    06. Camera (Queer Sound)
    07. King’s Noise
    08. Transparent World
    09. The Lens

Personalized Stories

Around The Web