Listen: Conor Oberst’s new song “Governor’s Ball”


Conor Oberst has unveiled the second track from his first solo album in five years, Upside Down Mountain, due out May 20th via Nonesuch Records. Following the bluegrass of “Hundreds of Ways”, “Governor’s Ball” is, in the words of our own Josh Terry, “like Conor Oberst and the E Street Band”, with big, bar-rock guitars, bluesy organ, and blaring saxophones in the place of folksy ambiance and downtrodden guitars. With newfound maturity and sobriety, Oberst is becoming increasingly confident in stepping out as a frontman, sounding more like a sagely rock prophet than some overly emotional kid. Listen in below.

If you’re wondering, the song, is in fact, inspired by New York City music festival Governors Ball, as BrooklynVegan points out.

Check out the album’s artwork and tracklist below.

conor oberst upside down

Upside Down Tracklist:
01. Time Forgot
02. Zigzagging Toward The Light
03. Hundreds of Ways
04. Artifact #1
05. Lonely At The Top
06. Enola Gay
07. Double Life
08. Kick
09. Night At Lake Unknown
10. You Are Your Mother’s Child
11. Governor’s Ball
12. Desert Island Questionnaire
13. Common Knowledge