Peter Murphy will release new album Lion in June


    Even as he was celebrating all things Bauhaus on tour last year, Peter Murphy was hard at work on what would be his 10th solo record, Lion. “It’s a mixture of stuff, almost like operas for the dispossessed,” he told Billboard last May. “It’s very romantic and very deep and emotional, quite symphonic in places, but then becomes, like, a rabble-rousing pirate sea shanty.”

    Now, thanks to entries on (via Slicing Up Eyeballs), details regarding Lion’s release have finally emerged: spanning 11 tracks, it’s due May 30th in Europe and June 2nd in the UK. (A US release date has yet to be confirmed.) The album was co-produced by Killing Joke bassist Youth.

    For a preview, Amazon is streaming 30-second previews of the entire record. Unlike 2011’s Ninth, the record demonstrates more of electronically-orientated, harder-edge sound. Listen here.


    Prior to the album’s release, Murphy will preview the first full-length track with a new 7-inch due out on Record Store Day (April 19th). “Hang Up” features a dub version of the album’s lead single backed by the non-album track “I’m On Your Side”. For more info on this and any other RSD releases, head here.

    Below, watch footage of Murphy performing a new song during a gig in Stockholm, Sweden in June 2013.

    Lion Tracklist:

    01. Hang Up
    02. I Am My Own Name
    03. Low Tar Stars
    04. I’m On Your Side
    05. Compression
    06. Holy Clown
    07. The Rose
    08. The Ghost of Shokan Lake
    09. Eliza
    10. Loctaine
    11. Lion