Neil Young announces deluxe box set for A Letter Home, featuring Jack White


    Last week, Neil Young released his highly-anticipated, Jack White-aided covers album, A Letter Home, through White’s Third Man Records. Up until now, the album has only been available as a single-LP vinyl. However, today, Young announced details for a deluxe box set, which will be released on May 27th through Third Man and Reprise Records.

    The limited edition set will include two different vinyl versions of the album, including a hi-res Audiophile LP pressed on 180-gram vinyl. In addition, there will be a CD copy as well as a download code for a digital Audiophile version. The set will also include seven 6-inch clear vinyl discs, each featuring two of the album tracks, with the seventh one containing a non-album version of Bob Dylan’s “Blowin’ in the Wind”. Also included will be a DVD with footage of the recording sessions and a 32-page color booklet.

    (Read: 25 Best Neil Young Covers)


    As previously reported, the album was at White’s Third Man Records HQ in Nashville, inside a 1940s-era Voice-o-Graph recording booth. White himself is featured on two tracks.

    Young described the Voice-O-Graph as “A phone booth. It’s all acoustic with a harmonica inside a closed space, with one mic to vinyl.” It results in a “lo-fi analog record”, which Young described as “retro-tech.” However, in keeping with the spirit of his new music service Pono, it’ll feature a high-resolution sound. As he explained, “You can make a lo-fi, analog record, direct to vinyl, transfer it to 192, and you have a high res copy of a lo-fi vinyl record.”

    Pre-orders are now ongoing. Below, watch video of his Bert Jansch’s cover “Needle of Death”.


    A Letter Home Tracklist:
    01. A Letter Home Intro
    02. “Changes” (Phil Ochs)
    03. “Girl From The North Country” (Bob Dylan)
    04. “Needle of Death” (Bert Jansch)
    05. “Early Morning Rain” (Gordon Lightfoot)
    06. “Crazy” (Willie Nelson)
    07. “Reason to Believe” (Tim Hardin)
    08. “On The Road Again” (Willie Nelson)
    09. “If You Could Only Read My Mind” (Gordon Lightfoot)
    10. “Since I Met You Baby” (Ivory Joe Hunter)
    11. “My Hometown” (Bruce Springsteen)
    12. “I Wonder If I Care As Much” (Everly Brothers)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web