Reigning Sound announce new album, Shattered, stream “Falling Rain”


    Photo by Kyle Dean Reinford

    Memphis garage-pop quintet Reigning Sound will return with a new album this summer. Shattered, their sixth to date and first with Merge Records, hits store on July 15th. Fronted by Greg Cartwright, the band features a number of new additions including Mike Catanese, Benny Trokan, and Mikey Post, alongside longstanding keyboardist Dave Amels. The new lineup recorded the forthcoming 11-track effort at Daptone Records’ Brooklyn studio with engineer Wayne Gordon.

    “Falling Rain” is the first glimpse at the upcoming LP. The track is a rambling folk rocker in the vein of The Band, with oozing organs and Cartwright’s slightly twangy voice singing, “roll down your mind, before it drives you insane.” Listen in below (via SPIN).


    Shattered Tracklist:
    01. North Cackalacky Girl
    02. Never Coming Home
    03. Falling Rain
    04. If You Gotta Leave
    05. You Did Wrong
    06. Once More
    07. My, My
    08. Starting New
    09. Baby It’s Too Late
    10. In My Dreams
    11. I’m Trying (to Be the Man You Need)

    The band has also planned a series of tour dates, including a stop at Merge’s 25th anniversary bash. Check the full docket below.

    Reigning Sound 2014 Tour Dates
    05/22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Bowl
    05/23 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East Downstairs
    05/24 – Baltimore, MD @ Otto Bar
    05/25 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
    07/02 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
    07/03 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Church on York
    07/05 – Oakland, CA @ Mosswood Park Amphitheatre
    07/06 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
    07/08 – Portland, OR @ Dante’s
    07/24 – Carrboro, NC @ Merge 25 @ Cat’s Cradle
    07/25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
    07/26 – Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight