Basement Jaxx announce Junto, their first new album in five years


    Earlier this month, Basement Jaxx released “Unicorn”, the lead single off their long-awaited follow-up to 2009′s pair of full-lengths, Scars and Zephyr. Today, the duo of Felix Buxton and Simon Ratcliffe have confirmed details for their corresponding seventh studio album: spanning 13 tracks, Junto hits stores on August 25th via Atlantic Jaxx/PIAS.

    Spanish for “together”, Junto emphasizes “Jaxx’s desire to unify people with their music”, according to a press release. Added Buxton, “With this album, we wanted to do something that felt more at one with the world.” That’s the album artwork above; anyone else think it looks like Kanye West’s DONDA whipped that up?

    In addition to “Unicorn”, the album features last year’s “Mermaid of Salinas”, off September’s What a Difference Your Love Makes EP. The duo had previously indicated that the album marks a return to their roots of “producing jacking house tracks”.


    Below, revisit “Unicorn” followed by the full tracklist.

    Junto Tracklist:
    01. Intro
    02. Power to the People
    04. Never Say Never
    05. We Are Not Alone
    06. What’s The News
    07. Summer Dem
    08. Buffalo
    09. Rock This Road
    10. Sneakin’ Toronto
    11 .Something About You
    12. Mermaid of Salinas
    13. Love Is At Your Side

Personalized Stories

Around The Web