Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young announce live boxed set, CSNY 1974


    Formative folk-rock group Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young have broken up, reformed, and reconfigured many times over the years, but never quite as dramatically as their initial split in 1970. Thankfully, by the summer of 1974, the band was able to bury the hatchet and reunite for a 31-date outdoor stadium tour called, fittingly enough, “Re-Union”. To commemorate the 40th anniversary of the tour, the band has announced a new box set entitled CSNY 1974, due out July 8th via Rhino Records.

    Helmed by Graham Nash and John Bernstein, the 3 CD/DVD collection features 40 previously-unreleased live tracks. That includes several Neil Young numbers, specifically “Traces”, “Love/Art Blues”, “Goodbye Dick”, and “Hawaiian Sunrise”. There’re also several songs that CSNY originally debuted during the tour, including David Crosby’s “Time After Time” and Stephen Stills’ “First Things First”. The rest of the tracklist is rounded out by band favorites like “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes”, “Helpless”, “Wooden Ships”, and “Teach Your Children”.

    According to a press release, “the box set mirrors the electric/acoustic/electric format that the band followed each night on stage, representing an idealized version of a show from the tour.”


    The expansive set will be released in various formats, including as single CDs and a six-LP set packaged in an ornate wooden box limited to 1,000 pressings. Each format includes a 188-page coffee table book of never-before-seen tour photos and a bonus DVD featuring previously unreleased concert footage. Audiophiles who aren’t using their PONO can pick up the Pure Audio Blu-Ray edition as well.

    Below, listen to “Pushed It Over The End”, followed by the full tracklist.

    CSNY 1974 Tracklist:

    Disc One – First Set:
    01. Love The One You’re With
    02. Wooden Ships
    03. Immigration Man
    04. Helpless
    05. Carry Me
    06. Johnny’s Garden
    07. Traces
    08. Grave Concern
    09. On The Beach
    10. Black Queen
    11. Almost Cut My Hair


    Disc Two – Second Set
    01. Change Partners
    02. The Lee Shore
    03. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
    04. Our House
    05. Fieldworker
    06. Guinevere
    07. Time After Time
    08. Prison Song
    09. Long May You Run
    10. Goodbye Dick
    11. Mellow My Mind
    12. Old Man
    13. Word Game
    14. Myth Of Sisyphus
    15. Blackbird
    16. Love Art Blues
    17. Hawaiian Sunrise
    18. Teach Your Children
    19. Suite: Judy Blue Eyes

    Disc Three – Third Set
    01. Déjà Vu
    02. My Angel
    03. Pre-Road Downs
    04. Don’t Be Denied
    05. Revolution Blues
    06. Military Madness
    07. Long Time Gone
    08. Pushed It Over The End
    09. Chicago
    10. Ohio

    Bonus DVD:
    01. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
    02. Almost Cut My Hair
    03. Grave Concern
    04. Old Man
    05. Johnny’s Garden
    06. Our House
    07. Déjà Vu
    08. Pushed It Over The End



Personalized Stories

Around The Web