La Roux announces new album, Trouble in Paradise, stream “Let Me Down Gently”


    London synth-popper Elly Jackson, a.k.a. La Roux, has announced details of her sophomore album. Due out July 8th via Cherrytree/Interscope, Trouble in Paradise serves as the follow-up to her 2009 self-titled debut.

    The nine-track effort, self-produced by Jackson alongside Ian Sherwin, is previewed by “Let Me Down Gently”. The song opens with a slow burn, a steady electronic beat bumping through the buzz. But after a brief moment of silence, dance floor rhythms take over. In a way, the transition gives a double meaning to the song’s heartbroken refrain: “When you let me down gently, it still feels hard.” Take a listen below.


    Trouble in Paradise Tracklist:
    01. Uptight Downtown
    02. Kiss and Not Tell
    03. Cruel Sexuality
    04. Paradise Is You
    05. Sexotheque
    06. Tropical Chancer
    07. Silent Partner
    08. Let Me Down Gently
    09. The Feeling

    In anticipation of the new release, La Roux has lined up an impressive round of tour dates that includes a visit to New York’s Governors Ball. Find the full docket here.

Personalized Stories

Around The Web