Listen: Lana Del Rey’s new song “Shades of Cool”


On Friday night, Lana Del Rey served as the entertainment for Kanye West and Kim Kardashian’s pre-wedding rehearsal dinner at the Palace of Versailles in Paris. Luckily, you don’t have to be a famous wedding guest or a Kardashian to hear Del Rey’s latest single off the Dan Auerbach-produced Ultraviolence.

“Shades of Cool” sees Del Rey reunite with songwriter Rick Nowels, who co-wrote both the aforementioned “Young and Beautiful” and “Summertime Sadness”. Unlike its ’80-inspired predecessor “West Coast”, “Shades of Cool” is a slow and slightly gloomy ballad marked by reverberated guitars, slight atmospherics, and Del Rey’s vocals that alternate between a hushed whisper and ephemeral wailing. It definitely harks back to 2012’s Born To Die, but there’s also a bit more grace and sophistication going on.

Ultraviolence is due out June 13th via Polydor/Interscope. For more sounds, check out Auerbach’s alternate mix of “West Coast” and Four Tet’s remix of the very same track.

Ultraviolence Tracklist:
01. Cruel World
02. Ultraviolence
03. Shades of Cool
04. Brooklyn Baby
05. West Coast
06. Sad Girl
07. Pretty When You Cry
08. Money Power Glory
09. Fucked My Way Up to the Top
10. Old Money
11. The Other Woman
12. Black Beauty *
13. Guns and Roses *
14. Florida Kilos *

* = bonus tracks