Lia Ices announces new album, Ices, streams “Thousand Eyes”


    Singer-songwriter Lia Kessel, aka Lia Ices, returns with her new album, Ices, on September 16th via Jagjaguwar. The follow-up to 2011’s Grown Unknown was produced by Benny Sagittarius (a production team of Lia and her brother Eliot) with support from Clams Casino, and written during a particularly inspiring transitional period in Lia’s life.

    “When we started work on these songs, I was beginning a gradual move to California, constantly traveling back and forth from New York,” she explained in a press release. “I was experimenting. I was falling in love. Our studio in the Hudson Valley was full of electronics and computers and the sounds of future ships sailing through the vastness of space, and I sometimes forgot where I was. The first songs we wrote were called “flying 1”, then “flying 2″, and so on, which eventually evolved into songs on the album. Flight became a metaphor for the ignition of the imagination. The process created a lightness in me, a freedom and positive energy that I’d never before felt or explored.”

    Lia added, “Ices is a celebration of flight, levity, and the conviction that you can leave earth…You take wing in an airplane, you go to real places when you dream, you have out-of-body experiences, you get high, you lose yourself in someone else.”


    Our first taste of the LP comes in the form of “Thousand Eyes”, a gorgeous and blissful indie-pop number that’ll make you feel as though you’re floating on cloud nine. Listen to the song below, followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.

    Lia Ices - Ices album

    Ices Tracklist:
    01. Tell Me
    02. Thousand Eyes
    03. Higher
    04. Love Ices Over
    05. Magick
    06. Electric Arc
    07. Sweet as Ice
    08. Creature
    09. How We Are
    10. Waves


Personalized Stories

Around The Web