Robert Plant announces new album, streams “Rainbow”


    With (still) no plans to reunite Led Zeppelin, Robert Plant has officially announced a new solo album. Entitled lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar, it serves as the follow-up to 2010’s Band of Joy and will hit stores on September 9th via Nonesuch Records.

    Self-produced by Plant, the forthcoming effort features 11 original track written with his band, The Sensational Space Shifters. According to Plant in a press release, it’s going to be “a celebratory record, powerful, gritty, African, Trance meets Zep.”

    “Rainbow” is the lead single from the LP. The song highlights the 65-year-old’s still-golden falsetto as he lightly coos over an understated jam of electric guitars and percussion. It’s atmospheric and fairly inviting rock and roll, a notable departure from his recent folk and bluegrass-inspired offerings. Listen in below (via NPR).


    In related news, Plant’s former Zeppelin bandmate Jimmy Page recently announced plans for his own solo album, his first in a decade.

    lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar
    01. Little Maggie
    02. Rainbow
    03. Pocketful of Golden
    04. Embrace Another Fall
    05. Turn It Up
    06. A Stolen Kiss
    07. Somebody There
    08. Poor Howard *
    09. House of Love
    10. Up on the Hollow Hill (Understanding Arthur)
    11. Arbaden (Maggie’s Babby)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web